Irritated and Unmotivated…

So I’m sitting here in the parking lot of a Barnes and Noble trying to write. Yes, in a PARKING LOT. Sitting in the cafe just didn’t do it for me. I couldn’t focus because the smell of the books and coffee was just too distracting. I now have a headache, my cell phone is dying, and I’m ready for a nap. I love writing, don’t get me wrong. Please don’t think I’m whining and ungrateful. Today is just one of those days that I just want to curl up and sleep all day long. It doesn’t help that I’ve only had about 6 hours of sleep. Which is reasonable but still. I’ve gotten two words written today…TWO. WORDS. I keep stressing about my phone dying because I’m going to be needing the gps on it here in about an hour. So here is to hoping the laptop stays alive long enough for me to charge my phone and get at least 1k words written. That would be lovely. I was hoping I would get a few thousand words today but I sat there for almost three hours just staring.

Some author friends of mine say that they don’t get down on themselves when they don’t write and usually I don’t but I can only be that way for a few days before it hits me and I just NEED to write. The same goes for me and reading. If I don’t read anything for a while it hits me and drags me down until I just want to curl up surrounded by stacks of books and not come out of hiding for weeks!

Anyway, here I sit, in a Barnes and Noble parking lot hoping to get some writing done. So cross your fingers that it works out and I get at least 1k words down and my phone charged within the next hour. 😉 Update soon.

Leave a Reply

